In the Middle of the Night

In the middle of the night, I need a man
In the middle of the night, I need a man

Days don’t bother me.

There’s so much light to dim the darkness around me.

There’s so much noise to deafen the noise within me.

Diversions, distractions, disturbances knock.

Animals, birds, plants to look at and talk.

It’s the evenings that bring in misery

and I am all entangled.

Clouds of memories are cast

and I smoulder.

My very existence is lost.

My soul seeks attention of heart.

I wish to cry

but I am a grown-up, ain’t I?

The night teases.

Its silence screeches.

In the middle of the night

I need a man

and that has to be you.

Mornings you may leave

but only after I wake up to see you lying by my side.

In the middle of the night

I need a man

and that has to be you.

 

© Kumar Gautam

Photo courtesy: 500px.com

Leave a Reply

