Puppy Love

Best ever love - school love
Best ever love – school love

Those were the best days of love,

when I was in puppy love.

Had no understanding of love,

no complex definitions of love

being together was fun

and in movies they called it love.

 

Way simple it was,

I couldn’t take my eyes off her.

Couldn’t live a moment without her,

she was the reason to live,

she was the reason to die,

she was the reason to smile,

she was the reason to cry.

 

Kiss meant a peck,

slight brush was great.

Our talks had no meaning,

yet they weren’t meaningless.

We could talk for hours about nothing,

we could talk for hours about everything.

 

Memories are so fresh,

securing window seat in school bus for her.

Rushing in classroom to sit next to her.

Looking at her through corners when asked to keep ‘heads down’.

She waiting when I was punished, called clown.

She helping with homework.

Hinting answers when teachers tossed a question.

She buying ice cream when I flunked in tests.

Bliss was watching her laugh when I made faces.

 

A gift meant a gift

not cheap or expensive.

Sharing tiffin was a date,

sharing chocolate was a treat.

Following her around was adventure,

being called puppy was misnomer.

 

Though I hated the word,

when they called my love, ‘puppy love’.

But when I look back today,

I realize my puppy love

was cutest love, truest love & lovesome love.     

 

© Kumar Gautam 

Leave a Reply

