Who am I

transgender symbol

 

I wonder

Who am I?

A body trapped in different soul

Or a soul mismatching the body.

 

I ponder

Who is at war?

Me with myself

or the world is picking fights with me.

 

I am amused.

Who made me slave?

My dilemmas

or society.

 

I think hard. 

What am I scared of ?

Rejection

Or the journey ahead.

 

Then I realise.

Isn’t it same with all humans?

Moving in and around

Pain, pleasure and several emotions.

 

I understand.

I am not a sinner.

I should love myself the way I am

World should accept the way I am.

 

Without hesitation

Let me say

It’s okay to be who you are

I am a transgender.

 

Proud I am

I am a transgender.

No different, nor any wonder

Yes, I am a transgender.

 

Don’t ogle, don’t laugh

I am not a national shame

Or an epidemic

Just a transgender.

 

Love me, hold me, smile at me

Warm I am as any human on earth

With pride I say

I am a transgender.

 

– Kumar Gautam

 

This poem is an attempt to voice the feelings of transgenders across globe. I dedicate this to all my transgender friends globally striving hard to search their identity and a sense of existence.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Who am I

Leave a Reply

