Love engraved

Love Engraved

You aren’t a property

You are not even an object

It may sound silly

But it’s true

There’s a part of you I own

And I bartered with

A part of mine

That you have taken along.

 

I still remember your fake concocted tales

Yes, I knew they were fake

But I loved laughing at them

Your deliberate touch, brush-up’s

A woman knows all

Your unctuous praises

Dreams and dates…

I loved them all

Because deep within my heart your love is engraved

 

People move on

But lacuna remains for long…

Through smiles, sorrow, tears or pain

I am all same…

I just don’t want to live in memories

Can’t there be a merger of past and present

Please come back

turn me sane 

And return me my better heart with your love engraved.

– Kumar Gautam

6 thoughts on “Love engraved

  1. thegodspark

    “And return me my better heart with your love engraved.” – I think that ‘love engraved’ was a good concept/symbolism for this poem. I think that that concept was the strongest part of the poem. I also think that these lines were also a stronger part of your poem:

    There’s a part of you I own

    And I bartered with

    A part of mine

    That you have taken along

    Like

Leave a Reply

